Chakra Balancing Using the Circle of Fifths

When I first began working with crystal bowls for sound healing, I received the standard issue chromatic scale crystal bowl set, like most everyone. Fortunately, I added a couple of bowls to create the full octave and the lower fourth or (F) bowl in the set. Excited to learn and practice using my set, I decided to listen to each bowl for clarity and pitch. However, my musical brain kicked in, realizing there was no way harmony could be created using the chromatic scale.

Here’s the problem. Using the chromatic scale to tune someone’s chakras would mean using just one or two bowls at a time. Otherwise, you might encounter bowls that don’t harmonize, which could be problematic when trying to instill peace and tranquility.  For many people experience, disharmony for long periods can be unhealthy and unpleasant.  It actually does the opposite of providing relaxation, which is the intended goal.

Since my goal is to provide services that are rooted in core practices, I put on my research hat to see what I could find. Here’s what I uncovered.

Musical Intervals

One of the first things that I came across in my research was a white paper on The Healing Power of Musical Intervals, a compiled research document about musical intervals and our natural emotional responses to them. It includes information about how each interval on the scale creates either harmony to incite feelings of joy or sadness or dissonance, which creates more unsettling states, and how they can both be used for healing. But how does that help me with my quest to balance the Chakras harmoniously?

Creating Harmony

Harmonies are comprised of two or more notes. Therefore, I need to add another note to create harmony. I can choose to play notes that create perfect harmony or imperfect harmony (dissonance), which, as I stated before, are both useful when used intentionally.

According to Fabien Maman, “The fifth interval expands in all directions and provokes the widest movement of energy in space. Because of its stimulating nature, the cycle of fits can be used to both concentrate and align the chakra energies.” He suggests starting with the Root note of F instead of C for optimal relaxation and expansion. This means our cycle of fifths would be F>C>G>D>A>E>B, each not being five notes above the last. Great, I have my answer. I can have all the notes needed to achieve harmonious chakra balancing using the cycle of fifths, right? Unfortunately, no. Not with your set of standard supply crystal bowls, you can’t.

The Seven Note Crystal Bowl Set

You see, the standard issue sets of crystal bowls are primarily in the fourth octave. We would need to start our cycle of fifths in the second octave and progress through to the fifth octave to make our perfect cycle of fifths work. It is not impossible, but it is likely expensive for most of us. That said, if you can acquire these bowls, your cycle of fifths would look like this: F2>C3>G3>D4>A4>E5>B5. Now, I have yet to find crystal bowls made higher than the fifth octave. So, what do we do to create harmony without breaking the bank? Modify our intervals.

Using Crystal Bowls to Balance the Chakras

If you follow this road map, you may only have to purchase one additional bowl to add to your standard issue crystal bowl set to achieve a harmonious fifth interval chakra balancing. Now, it won’t be the “perfect fifth,” but it will be a fifth, nonetheless.

Root Chakra (Muladhara) C in the Fourth Octave.

This is likely the largest bowl you have in your set. You probably already experience a sense of calm and grounding when you play it. Some retailers sell sets with the option to add an F bowl in the third octave to really sink into the earth element and then play that with your C bowl in the fourth octave to achieve a perfect fifth.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) G in the Fourth Octave

Moving from C to G gives us our first fifth in the musical scale. If you use tuning forks, you already know this interval. They are the notes of your body tuners. It doesn’t matter what octave they are in this interval, which incites a sense of calm and balance. It’s an expressive note that, as mentioned earlier, creates a sense of movement, which is why it is the perfect interval for the water element of the second chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) D in the Fourth Octave

Moving from G to D creates a sense of power, brightness, and energy; it’s a powerful interval that echoes the empowering qualities of the third chakra. It creates a sense of vitality, determination, and will. Stirring the fire inside for you to act from your truest essence.

Hearth Chakra (Anahata) A in the Fourth Octave

At the center of the chakra system lies the heart. When moving from D to A in musical compositions, a feeling of emotional depth and inner harmony occurs. This interval allows the heart to open up to the feeling of being worthy of love for self and others and to live a life that is balanced with your heart’s desires.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) E in the Fourth Octave

Here is your center of self-expression and the essence of your ability to communicate freely. Shifting from A to E creates a clear and resonant tone. It’s a natural opening that symbolizes the clarity and openness in expressing your thoughts and desires from your heart space through your own inherent sound.

Third Eye (Ajna) B in the Fifth Octave

Here, we have another perfect fifth. If you have the E bowl in the fourth octave, it’s the perfect place to have a natural perfect fifth in your standard set of crystal bowls available because here we are creating openness in our insight and intuition. This interval creates complexity and depth in music that mirrors the wisdom associated with the sixth chakra.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) F# Fifth Octave

And so, we come to the crown, to the F# note. It’s an auspicious note that creates a mystical feeling and, when played correctly with other notes, can sound otherworldly.

Energetic Balance and Flow

When we understand the relationship between music and the chakras, we can use music intuitively to help the energy move freely with sound.

Using the circle of fifths to balance the chakras is a natural way to experience and create harmony in your energetic centers. It creates a beautiful sense of relaxation and spiritual harmony. It demonstrates how ancient wisdom and modern music theory come together to create a holistic approach to our overall health and well-being.

Why work with a sound therapist?

When you work with a certified sound therapist who understands how to apply musical theory as a form of healing safely, it can be very powerful. Specific chakras can be targeted during private sessions, and melodic intervals can be played to help ease depression, anxiety, and stress. Alternatively, if you work with someone unaware of how to use music as therapy, you can leave feeling distressed. So, be sure to choose a practitioner who understands how to apply music as a modality for healing.

If you’re interested in experiencing a whole chakra-tuning session, contact me to book your session. I’d love to facilitate a healing journey for you.